Bernie Sizzey - Be Kind, I'm Cute: Bernie, The Complete Set (DVR052 MP3)


Completion date: 21st October 2011
Pressing: free digital download
Written and produced by Bernie Sizzey and friends
Executive producer: Lee Ashcroft

Album listing

All albums credited to Bernie Sizzey unless otherwise stated. Links below direct to Bandcamp.

  1. Bernie… The Early Years…… - From Reel To Real 1981----1985 (2000)
  2. Forever Friends (2000)
  3. Solitaire - The Game So Far (2001)
  4. Solitaire - Next Moves (2001)
  5. Solitaire - Bit By Bit (2002)
  6. Solitaire - Encore.... A Live Spoof.... The Fusion Meltdown Tour (2003)
  7. A Nice Pear (2003)
  8. Flux Transmissions (2004)
  9. The End Of The Game (2005)
  10. A Trip Into Paradise (2005)
  11. In Retroflection (2005)
  12. At The Walls... (2006)
  13. The Dream Sequence... (2006)
  14. Bernie - Hippie Princess (2006)
  15. Dementia Praecox (2007)
  16. Bernie - The Soft Machine (2007)
  17. Hippie Scat (best-of, 2007)
  18. Bernie - Quark (2008)
  19. Music for E.C.T. Lounges (2008)
  20. Crossroads (2010)
  21. Helter Skellter (2010)
  22. Rock Salad (2011)
  23. Bernie - Hard Wired (2011)


Welcome to Bernie's World..

Since the 1980s, Colchester, England's Bernie Sizzey has been making some of the strangest pop music you'll ever hear. Everything from the darkest goth-rock to comedy hip-hop and everything in between has been covered in his inimitable style. At the turn of the millenium, he started releasing some of these tracks on CD-R, with no further means of distribution than giving them to friends and gig-goers. Late in 2005, I got hold of a few of these discs and was blown away. Everything about it was unique, from the discs themselves with bits of tobacco and weed stuck to them, to the unusually sincere music and lyrics contained within, performed and recorded on borrowed and found equipment. He is arguably Colchester's answer to Daniel Johnston - he is certainly the town's only true musical outsider - and his music deserves to be heard by more people. So I am proud to be able to announce this epic 24-disc MP3 release (originally released as a CD-R box-set in an edition of two - and I own one), covering the vast majority of Bernie's work up until the autumn of 2011, including work recorded under the name Solitaire.

Some of the discs are highly corrupted, so a great deal of effort is going in to remastering the discs back to their full glory. The discs will be encoded as top-quality FLACs, with all variations in volume intact and full cover art, available to download absolutely free with Bernie's full blessing in a variety of formats from Bandcamp.

You might not like the music. In fact, you'll probably hate it. But it should stand as testament to one of the few musicians left in the world making music not for the fame and the fortune, or even the most basic form of public recognition, but for the love of expressing himself artistically, in the pursuit of making something genuine and heartfelt, in an industry full of postmodern irony and ultra-polished, meaningless aural turds.

Bernie Sizzey - belief in the leaf since 1964…

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License